DAY 30.. FINALLY

No one can understand the joy I feel as I am approaching the last hours vegan.

This challenge didn’t turn out how I had imagined in the beginning, I had high hopes for my pain and inflammation. I do believe it probably takes longer than 30 days to reverse rheumatoid or take away the pain so that being said I am not totally closing the door on this plant based (vegan) lifestyle.

Despite how hard the past 30 days have been I have learned so much about my “needs” and “wants” when it comes to food. I will continue to limit my meat and dairy intake and lean towards a more plant based lifestyle because I really have felt amazing over the past few weeks.

However, I meal prepped today for my next challenge and that chicken and ground turkey smelt AMAZING and I cannot wait for lunch tomorrow.

I know you are all expecting a BIG meat and dairy filled cheat meal but I am honestly just excited for my spinach and feta stuffed chicken breast tomorrow (check out my MEAL PREP blog post later tonight for that recipe.) and I am excited to really start hitting my goals for my wedding body!

Although……… I MAY just need to eat some chicken wings this weekend and maybe some nachos! MAYBE, but if I do I will let you all know!

I think going plant based is a wonderful thing, I watched a really great documentary “forks over knives” and it spoke a lot about health and plant based lifestyle. In theory it sounds amazing and I would have loved to LOVE being plant based. But it was hard, it was a huge change to my lifestyle and there was WAY too many things I didn’t like. And what did I like… CARBS, sadly… Cakes, cookies and corn chips do NOT help you lose weight. Could I be 80% or 90% plant based..? Maybe I could… But we will have to see.

For now, I will be introducing SOME dairy back into my lifestyle as well as some meats. I will still be trying out new vegan recipes and will definitely share them with you when I do.

I had high hopes for my last vegan meal tonight. I had planned to go to the grocery store get everything I needed and cook a recipe from one of my cookbooks..

But frankly, I am just over it.. Instead of going to the grocery store I did meal prep for my next few days of healthy eating and went for a walk on this beautifuo day with Aaryn. I have spent a lot of time and money on plant based eating. I have made a lot of recipes and almost all the supper/lunch ones I did not like. So I decided I didn’t want to make another one.. I knew I wanted to make at least one Vegan recipe on my last day and so I made Vegan Chia Seed Jam.

This is my second time baking with chia seeds and I got to say, these are weird sticky little seeds when they get wet. They stick to everything and they look like fish eggs! But if I haven’t turned you off them already I will say they don’t taste bad, they don’t really taste like anything.

I used partridge berries and it was good! I will definately put this on some of my Oatmeal in the next few days.  This jam lasts for 1-2 weeks in an airtight sealed container in the fridge. If you like sweeter jam I would advise using strawberries or blueberries. 

Chia Seed Jam

  • 3c berries
  • 2 Tbsp chia seeds 
  • 3-4 tbsp maple syrup 
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract 

Cook berries in saucepan on medium-high heat add maple syrup. Simmer on medium-low heat for 5 minutes. Add chia seeds stir frequently let simmer for 15 min. Remove from heat & add vanilla!

This is from my oh she glows Cookbook! 

Worth a try, next time I will try blueberries!!  

 Keep an eye out for my meal prep post this evening for some healthy recipes :). 

xo, Marissa 

Leave a Reply

