Day 10: Guilt free spinach dip worth going vegan for!

It’s day 10! 

Today is the best I felt towards plant based eating since I started. The excitement I once had is back and I’m hoping that today was my turning point for this process to get easier. 

I made some A-M-A-Z-ING new recipes today and I can’t wait to share them with you. 

 ⬆⬆⬆Twix Bar Cups… supposed to be just bars but I couldn’t find my 8×8 pan. I don’t know if I’d consider them healthy with the amount of grade A maple syrup it calls for but man are they delicious. 

Recipe:

http://www.bakerita.com/homemade-twix-bars/

These will not survive in my house.. 

They are so good I would serve them at Christmas..

Yeah, that good!! 

I am going to a friend’s house Saturday night for an epicure party and there is going to be so much amazing food that I won’t be able to eat so, I was determined to make a recipe using epicure spices that I could enjoy.. which brings me to my guilt free spinach dip worth going vegan for! I kind of just threw things together hoping for the best while trying to mimic a recipe that usually includes cream cheese, mayo and shredded cheese and I think I did pretty good! 

  • 1 package soft tofu
  • 1/2c vegan yogurt
  • 1/2 pack frozen chopped spinach (defrosted and drained)
  • 3 artichoke halves 
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1 medium onion 
  • 3 Tbsp epicure spinach dip mix 
  • 2 Tbsp epicure nacho dip mix 
  • Salt to taste 

Pulse spinach, artichokes, Garlic and onion in food processor. Then cook in frying pan over medium-low heat with coconut oil for 7-10 min. While that is cooking mix yogurt and tofu until well blended in food processor. Add tofu yogurt mix to pan mix well. Add epicure spices and salt to taste! 

Plant based or not if you are a spinach dip lover you will love this. I’ll even go one further to say no one will even know this dip doesn’t have dairy.. THAT GOOD! 

I swear. 

For lunch I had Vegan Tortilla Soup made by Josh’s mom. 

It was so good, food is always better when someone else makes it. Aaryn and I loved it. 

The recipe for this soup is quite big and I’m not sure who to credit for it so instead of posting the recipe she gave me I decided to find one online that was pretty close. ⬇⬇⬇

https://www.veganosity.com/vegan-tortilla-soup-gluten-free/ 

For supper I decided to make a Vegan Pot Pie by the Minimalist Baker.. 

http://minimalistbaker.com/1-hour-vegan-pot-pies/?mc_cid=5652a6cd62

Clearly if you compare recipes you will discover I suck at following directions so the two look completely different. This recipe was good, I will make it again but next time I will add more liquid and a lot more veggies! I’m thinking broccoli and cauliflower would be a nice addition. 

The biscuit recipe which is the crust on top of my pot pie was really good and very easy to make. I am thinking about making a batch tomorrow just to have as biscuits. 

Overall today was awesome I feel great, ate lots of good nutrient dense food and I am very satisfied. 

Maybe this isn’t so bad after all?  

Leave a Reply

