Day 8: Continued 

Yesterday we decided to have a phone-less family day so I only had a small blog post last night. I am contemplating phone-less Monday’s but I haven’t totally committed yet because it was hard. 

It was a great day and our sweet baby girl actually crawled for the first time! Once and then of course she wouldn’t do it again for the camera. But nonetheless it was so exciting and because we didn’t have our phones glued to us we actually got to experience it together as a family. 

For lunch I made cheese-less pizza. 

As sad as my pizza looks it wasn’t bad! I felt really good after eating it but I was still pretty hungry. I probably could of eaten four of these.. but I didn’t. 

I’ve been having alot of pain in my knees and feet the past few mornings which has made me so sad. I really did believe that changing the foods I eat would help my pain. In a way I’m sure it has, obviously healthy eating has to be more beneficial on my joints than not but, I have been eating healthy for a long time. The only change here has been cutting out my meat, dairy and eggs. So I have caught myself wondering, is it worth it? 

I’ve been feeling low energy, most likely because I’m not eating all the foods necessary for a balanced plant based lifestyle. The foods that give me protein and iron are the foods that gross me out. 

At this stage do I see a plant based lifestyle forever, no. Could that change, yes. But as of right now, I’m still feeling a lot of arthritis pain, I’m hungry and I’m tired!

I made another pot of veggie chili yesterday but this time I put way more beans inside. (Chili kind of masks the beans thankfully). 

  • Mushrooms 
  • Green and red pepper
  • Onions
  • Celery 
  • Kidney beans
  • Pinto beans 
  • Diced tomatoes 
  • Crushed Tomatoes 
  • Chili spice 
  • Cayenne Pepper 
  • With a small spoonful of coconut yogurt on top! 

This was and still is the most satisfying supper I have had yet so I made a huge pot. This has also been the only way I’ve been able to eat any beans. 

Going plant based has to be one of the most challenging things I’ve ever done. It is only day 9 and I’ve contemplated quitting a million times. But I haven’t yet! This experience is definately changing the way I look at healthy eating and lifestyle. I’ve had clients in the past who have struggled with healthy eating and I was easy on them. I understood, healthy eating is hard. 

But now.. 

If you think healthy eating is hard. Try going vegan.. 

Healthy eating is easy in comparison. I will never complain about chicken breast or boiled eggs again. Ever. 

Leave a Reply

