Day 7: Smoothie Bowl – A lie people tell themselves to be ok with “eating” a smoothie for lunch..

If you haven’t heard of the smoothie bowl before basically it’s a smoothie.. in a bowl.. that you eat with a spoon. Which to me just seems like a lot of work but I tried it anyway. 

And boy was I right. 

First you choose your frozen fruit, then you add 1/2c veggies or greens, 1/2c liquid and lastly you add a protein. Blend, pour in a bowl and top with toppings to make it look pretty! 

My smoothie bowl consisted of:

  • Mixed frozen strawberries, blueberries, raspberries and blackberries
  • 1/2c Spinach 
  • 1/2c Almond Milk unsweetened 
  • 2 Tbsp of almonds

I went one step further and added a bit of coconut yogurt as well.

Clearly I was a skeptic from the start, putting a smoothie in a bowl and eating it with a spoon seems time consuming and silly. 

I didn’t put ingriendents on top because I knew it would make it hard to drink when I got sick of using a spoon and poured it in a glass.. which is what I did. 

If you love the smoothie bowl props to you! It’s a cute idea but I really didn’t find it practical. 

This was the first time I put nuts in my smoothie, it was good and I will definately add them again. As a personal trainer I don’t agree with replacing a meal with a smoothie… even if you are eating it in a bowl with a spoon. So I roasted some asparagus and potatoes to have on the side. 


My roasted asparagus was so good, I sprayed with Coconut oil, sprinkled garlic powder, pepper and sea salt and baked for 20 minutes on 400. 

Yummy. 

On Sundays we always go to my mother and father in law’s (to be) for Sunday Dinner. It’s always delicious and I’m sure today was no exception. I brought myself a version of a hot top salad with a bit of epicure fajita spice on broccoli, red pepper, green pepper and mushrooms over a bed of spinach with some almonds on top. 

It was filling and ok. But it definately wasn’t the ham and mashed potatoes that looked so good!

The struggle is real, but worth it. 

We are just about 1/4 of the way through and I’ve had good moments and bad. Today I really struggled with thinking I wasn’t sure how much longer I could do this. It is such a challenging process to change your entire way of eating, the way you think about food and the way you view what a meal should look like. But with the support of my family at supper tonight they brought back my motivation and also gave me a few new meal ideas to try so stay tuned. 

Tomorrow I’m going to make another veggie chili for supper, that was my favorite meal yet and left me feeling the most satisfied for a supper. Also the baby LOVED it so that’s always a bonus. 

Tomorrow is Family Day and we are going to celebrate here with the trending phone-less family day. No media what’s so ever. 

However, I will sneak on and post my all time favorite date bar recipe for you all to try! 

Happy Sunday.

    Leave a Reply

    