Day 5: Not your average nacho dip.. 

Happy Friday!

Today I  wanted to try out some enjoy life vegan chocolate chips. I made some vegan chocolate chip cookies! What I usually do is try and make healthy desserts even healthier then they already are and ruin them.. which is what I did today.  

The cookies itself really aren’t bad but because I decided not to add brown sugar to it you can really taste the baking soda…. so sad. 

They are still edible in a baking soda chocolate chip oatmeal kinda way.. but here’s the recipe… without the baking soda.

  • 3c oat flour
  • 1/3c coconut oil 
  • 1/4c grade A maple syrup 
  • 2 Flax eggs 
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder 
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Bake 375 for 12 minutes. 

Friday is usually our Nachos and wings night.. and I’m sorry but I’ve tried cauliflower wings and they are not delicious or “just like wings” (at least the recipes I’ve tried aren’t anyway). And I definately wasn’t going for tofu to try and make anything remotely resembling wings so, we ditched the wings this week. 

As for nachos.. I definately wasn’t making sweet potato nachos again so I made real nachos on blue corn chips! (Two ingridents: blue corn and sunflower oil) 

Realistically I didn’t think Josh would eat my “plant based” nachos so I made half with dairy and half without.. I bet you can’t guess who owns which side…. ha ha..

I put green and red pepper, jalapeños and Daiya Mozzarella Cheese on mine. I was excited and once again couldn’t wait to try! 

I didn’t realize how picky I am. Seriously. Pickiest person ever. Apparently. 

The cheese grossed me out. I would have just rather ate the chips with salsa. The reason I know I’m picky is because Josh tried them and said he couldn’t even taste the cheese. Oh. I could. 

Fail. 

To go along with nachos I found a recipe for nacho sauce, like the stuff you get at the movie theatre that you are supposed to use for nachos but you dip your popcorn in… YUM. It’s not just me who does that right? 

But the nacho cheese sauce at the movie theatre is so close to being plastic and filled with so many chemicals (sorry) but it tastes good. At least to me. Probably because I know it’s horrible for me. The nacho cheese I made tonight was full of all these real, healthy, good ingriendents! Carrots, Potato, lemon juice, nutritional yeast (supposed to have at cheesy flavor?), jalapeños, olive oil and water.. and once again, I hated it! Worst. Part Time Vegan. Ever! To make matters worse, Josh liked it! Josh who I could barely convince to eat healthy cookies two years ago likes this! 

Out of control. So here I am again.

The girl who hates salads can’t wait to make a salad tomorrow. 

However, I’m still enjoying this lifestyle. I feel like I’ve lost weight but haven’t weighed myself. I still love breakfast and lunches, it’s just those darn suppers. But I have 25 more days to make them better! 

Cheers to the challange. 

4 thoughts on “Day 5: Not your average nacho dip.. 

    1. I haven’t had any pain until this morning actually. My feet were pretty sore when I woke up this morning so we will see what happens through out the next few weeks.

      Like

Leave a Reply

