Day 4: Plant Based Success.. Finally! 

Day 4 started out with healthy deliciously amazing breakfast cookies. I made one baby friendly batch for baby Aaryn and her friend James and I made another mommy friendly batch for me and James’ mom! 

Recipe: (Vegan)

  • 1c Rolled Oats
  • 1/2c Oat Flour
  • 1c Unsweetened coconut
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 Tsp Baking powder
  • 1/2 Tsp Baking soda
  • 2 Flax eggs (see below)
  • 1/4c melted coconut oil
  • 1/3c maple syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/3c Plain Coconut Yogurt (could substitute with plain greek – would not be vegan)
  • 1/3c chopped almonds
  • 20 chopped dates

Baby version:

  • Substitute maple syrup for equal homemade apple sauce
  • Add 1 medium mashed banana
  • Remove almonds

Bake on 350 for 10-13 minutes!

Flax Eggs: 1 egg = 1 Tbsp ground flax & 3 Tbsp water. Refrigerate for 15 min before use.

For lunch I had some of my Veggie Chili from day 1 that I had in the freezer. It was spicy and so good. Head over to Day 1’s post for the recipe.

When I am in need of something sweet I have found myself heading over to instagram. I’m obsessed with Erin Ireland right now and get a lot of recipes from her instagram stories @erinireland she is vegan and always posts easy healthy dessert recipes that I can’t get enough of.

Her sinful Peanut Butter Fudge cups have hit our household again, but this time in smaller serving sizes so they hopefully last longer then a day! Her site http://www.itstodiefor.ca has alot of recipes that are super easy with minimal ingriendents. 

But more about the Peanut Butter Fudge Cups… 

Honestly.  There are four ingriendents in this. FOUR!

  • 1c Natural Peanut Butter
  • 1c Coconut Oil
  • 1tsp Vanilla
  • 1 tbsp Grade A Maple Syrup

    These are easily my favorite dessert right now and are a must try! 

    For supper I decided I needed to get back to the basics and stop my experiments for a while. My suppers haven’t been as successful as my breakfast or lunches most likely because I’m so used to eating meat. Which ends up making me feel a little discouraged so I made a veggie stir fry with brown rice for supper this evening.

    Y

    U

    M

    I love cooking with this much color it’s so much more exciting seeing all the fresh and healthy colors on your plate! Going plant based for 30 days has already pushed me outside my comfort zone and forced me to eat way more vegetables in a day than I ever have before. 

    I am proud to say I didn’t miss the meat at all today and I feel excellent. 

    Overall day 4 was 100% successful! 

    One thought on “Day 4: Plant Based Success.. Finally! 

    Leave a Reply

    