Day 3: A marathon not a sprint..

img_4159

Today I woke up feeling AMAZING, no headache, minimal foot pain and zero bloat. I usually cannot walk on my hard floors without slippers because my feet are so sore but this morning I actually got out of bed and didn’t feel like I needed my slippers. Also I realized I barely wore my slippers the day before, this might seem like nothing to some readers but it was HUGE for me. I have been wearing slippers all day every day for a few years. I have a huge glimmer of hope that this could be what I have been looking for.

My best friend Steph has been asking me for a Healthy “Fitness Approved” Apple Turnover recipe since she seen a picture posted by a bikini prep competitor. Hence today’s breakfast… HEALTHY Apple Turnover. I have two topping recipes, ones Vegan and one is not.

Recipe:

  • 1 Tbsp Coconut Oil
  • 2 Small Apples, peeled and sliced
  • 1/2 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1 Tbsp Maple Syrup (vegan) or Honey (not vegan) 
  • 1 Food for Life Wrap

Vanilla Cream Topping: (VEGAN)

  • 1/3c Plain Coconut Yogurt
  • 1/2 tsp Pure Vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp Grade A Maple Syrup

Vanilla Cream Topping: (FITNESS APPROVED — NOT VEGAN)

  • 1/2c Plain Greek Yogurt
  • 1/2 tsp Pure Vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp No Sugar Added Maple Syrup

Melt Coconut Oil in frying pan & Add sliced and peeled apples

img_4130

Add Cinnamon and Maple Syrup

img_4138

Mix well & Cook on medium heat for about 7-10 Minutes until apples are soft and warm. Stir frequently

img_4145

Prepare your wrap and throw Apple mixture inside, wipe out pan and keep on medium heat. Fold up wrap and place back into the pan to form a crisp golden colour on each side.

img_4152

Top with Vanilla Cream Topping & Enjoy!

img_4158

YUM! This recipe is Gluten Free, VEGAN & No refined sugars.. A-M-A-Z-ING.

For lunch today I had a small slice of leftover Daiya Pizza and a Hot Top Salad. My usual hot top salad includes chicken but instead today I made it totally plant based.

img_4167

My Salad is topped with Mushrooms, Green Pepper and Onions which I cooked up in a frying pan sprayed with Coconut Oil, Garlic, Sea Salt and Pepper. I threw these hot veggies on top of a spinach base. I did not eat any salad dressing and I didn’t need any!  So good, so quick and so easy. It is a MUST TRY for you salad haters out there!

I was so excited for supper all day, bragging about the sweet potato loaded nachos I was going to make tonight.

img_4193

Looks good right?   Well.. I thought so too. But tonight is a night that reminded me how big of a role meat plays in my life and that maybe, just maybe at the end of this 30 days I will be welcoming chicken back with open arms!

My Nachos were mostly good, I didn’t miss the cheese, I loaded it up with plain coconut yogurt and salsa which really tasted like salsa and sour cream but what I didn’t like was the sweet potato.. And generally I LOVE sweet potato. I was missing that crunch of nachos that nothing but delicious corn chips can give you!

img_4197

Don’t get me wrong, it tasted good! But I am a texture girl.. And I will admit I didn’t love this. I don’t know if you could maybe cook the sweet potato for longer or add some vegan cheese.. But for now I’ll put this one aside with my left over tofu..

After supper I had to take some time to really think about what this 30 days was going to do for me and remind myself that it took me YEARS to get where I was with healthy eating (involving meat). Years to develop recipes, try new things and find my pallet for healthy foods. This 30 days will be no different, I can’t wake up one day and like tofu, or sweet potato nachos, or cheese-less pizza.

Changing lifestyle is a marathon not a sprint and at the end of this my goal is to have a healthier life with more recipes that are solely plant based if nothing else.

 

One thought on “Day 3: A marathon not a sprint..

  1. I really connected with the no slippers, I reach for them as soon as I wake up. Would love to say I could walk on my hardwood floors like you did!! Success….thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

