Day 1: Coffee, Wine & Oreo Pancakes 

Here I am on day one of my Whole Foods Plant Based change and I wake up to two pressing questions I haven’t yet considered. My first question immediately upon waking up was can I drink coffee….  YES! and my second was can I drink wine? After some research that answer was a partial yes, certain kinds! (which is good enough of a YES for me.. more info on this to come). So we are now good to go.

I weighed in this morning and will not weigh in again until the end of the 30 days. This journey isn’t about weight loss so in order for me to stay focused and on task I have to take away that obsession of always knowing my weight. The scale has always been an obsession for me and I am hoping the next 30 days without it will help.

So far I am feeling excited. Today was a great day of trying new things, making a huge mess in my kitchen and scanning Pinterest for new meals and ideas for my future 30 days.

Breakfast:

I feel very positive about breakfasts, they seem realistic, satisfying and generally pretty easy. Which can be understood when you see what I ate…

 Oreo Pancakes?!?!? And oh my were they delicious! Vegan. No Artificial Sugar AND Gluten free.  I could easily eat these every morning!

Recipe:

  • 4 Tbsp Almond Milk
  • 1 Tsp Pure Vanilla
  • 1 Tbsp Melted Coconut Oil
  • 1/2 Tsp Vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp Grade A maple syrup
  • 1/2c Oat Flour (I ground up oats in my food processor)
  • 1 Tsp Baking Powder
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp Cocoa Powder

Mix in bowl, heat frying pan on medium heat with coconut oil, cook in frying pan.

Makes 6-8 small pancakes.

Vanilla “Cream” (for in between pancakes)

  • 1/2c Plain Coconut Yogurt
  • 1/2 Tsp Pure Vanilla
  • 1/2 Tsp Grade A maple syrup

Mix in bowl, place in between pancakes like oreos, drizzle on top & Enjoy!! (I didn’t use all of this cream so I stored in fridge for tomorrow!)

After breakfast I decided to do a bit of juicing and make enough juice for the next two days. I never get enough veggies or fruits in a day so I’m hoping this helps!

In this juice for three servings I have..

  • 3 celery stocks
  • 2 huge carrots
  • 4 apples
  • 1 lemon
  • 1 cup of spinach

 

Lunch:

In preparation for lunch today I made a small veggie and bean chili yesterday and had it in the fridge ready to go.

Veggie Bean Chili

  • 1 Can crushed tomatoes
  • 1 can kidney beans
  • 1 cup chickpeas
  • 1/2 green pepper
  • 1/2 red pepper
  • 1 cup mushrooms
  • 1/4c Chili powder
  • 1 Tsp Cayenne Pepper

I made a smaller size recipe but still had enough to store some in the fridge and some in the freezer for an easy go to meal if I am ever not prepared. I ate my Chili with a Food For Life English Muffin on the side. I didn’t have anything on my English muffin as I have not found any vegan butter yet. At the end of this meal I felt very satisfied, full and did not miss the meat at all!

 

Supper:

Ever since I saw Jillian Harris’ Instagram story of her Bufflo Tofu Wraps I have been SO interested in trying them out! So when I decided to do a 30 day Plant Based Change this recipe was on the top of my list. http://www.jillianharris.com  <—- Find recipe on her site. I didn’t follow exactly what she put inside her wraps but I did follow the tofu cooking part exactly.

The recipe called for a store bought vegan ceaser dressing but in my rush of grocery shopping I couldn’t find one and decided to make my own homemade vegan ceaser dressing out of almonds, olive oil, Dijon mustard and garlic and that might have been my first mistake. My dressing was WAY to garlicky and it’s all I could taste. If you can find the store version bought I would recommend it.

As in the name, the recipe also called for tofu. The problem with tofu is me. I am so picky.. So many things gross me out and I will admit when I took the tofu out of the package I was not very enthusiastic about my meal ahead of me. That being said, it cooked well and it really didn’t taste bad! Actually to be honest I couldn’t taste the difference at all but I knew the difference and that kind of grossed me out. SILLY I know.. I ate over 3/4 of the wrap and then decided I was done. Tofu on day one was too hardcore for me so I am going to take a little break from it and come back to it in a few days!
All in all if you can get over the look of tofu you would love it! If you aren’t picky the recipe is really good, and you can’t tell the difference. If someone made me this recipe and told me it was chicken I would have ate it all, LOVED it and would never have known the difference. But I made it, and I knew the difference so I am going to have to work on that in the future or my menu will be very limited.

Overall i’ve had a great day! I am not going to love every thing I try and I can accept that. I am so excited to continue on this journey I am learning so much about what you can make with real foods and it’s only DAY ONE!

Day 1 of 30, successfully complete! 

 

2 thoughts on “Day 1: Coffee, Wine & Oreo Pancakes 

Leave a Reply

